Food Photos, in Honor of Fat Tuesday

Happy Fat Tuesday / Shrove Tuesday / Mardi Gras / Day before Lent everyone! I am really not shy about the fact that I love to eat, and I’m not ashamed to say I love certain unhealthy things that many other people find appalling (like soda and McDonald’s fries). On a daily basis, I’m a pretty healthy person. My weekday lunch box contains staples like yogurt (coconut milk yogurt, learn about PKU to find out why), salad, apples, carrot sticks, strawberries, and clementines. During the day I only drink water, and while my dinners usually consist of pasta, I have learned to mix small servings of pasta with healthy add-ins- like broccoli, peppers, spinach, and extra virgin olive oil- rather than dumping on jar sauce.

But on Fat Tuesday, who cares! It’s time to eat! Based on the way I was raised, Fat Tuesday was the day where you filled up on all things unhealthy- like candy, ice cream, bread, cake, potato chips… in preparation for the season of Lent, when you would ostensibly chose one of those unhealthy but delicious delicacies to give up for forty days. Fat Tuesday is also the day before Ash Wednesday, when many Catholics fast. I even observed Fat Tuesday at the Catholic schools I attended, with the teachers bringing in extra treats to eat during class and the religion teachers making you write an essay on what you were giving up for Lent and why.

Since I am now an adult, it is up to me to decide how seriously I want to celebrate / observe Fat Tuesday and Ash Wednesday and Lent. And I have decided to begin today by looking back at all the food photos I have taken during my travels. As a person who loves to eat and looks forward to mealtimes, food often becomes a huge part of my travel memories. You may notice that eating and drinking have their very own category of posts! And as such I am not embarrassed to photograph my food. So enjoy these pictures of fun foodie moments I have had throughout my travels, and then go eat all you want until the clock strikes midnight!

Cuisine in the Caribbean

A few of the meals I enjoyed at my first all-inclusive resort in Montego Bay, Jamaica.

Disney Delights

It is no surprise that one of my favorite parts of Disney World is the food.

Liquid Lunches

Beer counts as food, right?

Fun Food

Why be ordinary when you can have fun?

Sweet Treats

I have an insatiable sweet tooth and I’m not even sorry.

Addicted to Carbs

I eat a lot of carbs. And by a lot, I mean A LOT.

A Little Bit of This and That

Very random meals I have had the pleasure of eating.

5 thoughts on “Food Photos, in Honor of Fat Tuesday

Leave a Reply

