Uncle Tommy’s Final Journey

Last week, I said goodbye to you.

You actually left us five months ago. You fought to come back to us and we prayed that you would. But this isn’t like those stories you read in the news or those people you see on the internet. We never got our miracle. God called you home.

Did you even know how hard you were fighting to stay with us? Did you even see the people who gathered around your bed? Did you hear the music we played for you, the stories we told you? Did you feel the hands that held yours?

Thank you.

Thank you for being my uncle. My father’s brother. My grandparents’ son. My aunt’s husband. My cousins’ father. Thank you for being you.

Thank you for hosting the Saint Patrick’s Day parties. For buying the beer, cooking the meat, playing the Celtic folk songs, opening your home.

That's my Uncle Tommy, seated in the front on the right, with glasses and a green hoodie. We are on his front porch, celebrating our Irish heritage after watching the local parade, just like we did every year.

That’s my Uncle Tommy, seated in the front on the right, with glasses and a green hoodie. We are on his front porch, celebrating our Irish heritage after watching the local parade, just like we did every year.

Thank you for coming over to help us build the shed in our yard. You were actually holding the wall up when I was on the other side, only pretending to hold it. You called me out on it and then we laughed together, so hard that we almost dropped the wall.

Thank you for that moment, when I was only seven or so, when I was listening to a Lion King cassette tape on my brand new Walkman. You slid the headphones off of my head and held them between us so that we could both hear Hakuna Matata.

It is truly amazing how such a little moment can become so incredibly special when you remember someone.

I am so glad that you got to meet my fiancé. I am so glad that you liked him, connected with him, and knew we were getting married. I’m so glad that you got to celebrate with us at our engagement party, but we will miss you so dearly at our wedding. The camping equipment that you gave us for Christmas last year will be put to good use, and every time we use it we will remember you and the passion for the outdoors that we shared.

You went on many journeys in your lifetime. You took your children to Disney World, you took your wife to the beach, you took your Boy Scouts to jamborees. We just sent you off on your final journey. It isn’t the kind of journey I like to write about, but it is one that every soul will take- some too soon.

Goodbye. I love you. I will miss you forever.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

One thought on “Uncle Tommy’s Final Journey

  1. Pingback: My 1st Blogiversary | the files of a traveling daydreamer

Leave a Reply

